Friday, May 4, 2012

Virginia Marriage License Laws

If you are getting married in Virginia the one thing you don't want to forget is your marriage license- your officiant will not marry you without it.  Obtaining a marriage license is fairly straightforward, just keep in mind the following:

  • Your license must be obtained within 60 days prior to your wedding.  Be safe and get sooner rather than later.  You don't want to wait till the last business day before your wedding to get it in case you get stuck in traffic or some emergency comes up and you are unable to get to the circuit court before it closes.
  • You can obtain your license at any circuit court in Virginia, regardless of which Virginia county you are being married.  
  • Both you and your fiance will need to be present to obtain your license.  The cost at most courts is $30 and many only take cash.
For more information on getting a marriage license in Virginia, check out these two websites: and  To locate a circuit court in Virginia, visit the Virginia Courts website at:

Happy Planning!

Julie Daniel, Splash Consultant

No comments: